• Bitte aktivieren Sie Javascript um die E-Mail Adresse zu sehen.

Confirmation of the diagnosis of "bronchial asthma"

The diagnosis of "bronchial asthma" is confirmed by the following examinations:

  • Pulmonary function test (spirometry): For this you have to breathe out into a device ("spirometer") as quickly as possible after inhaling as deeply as possible. The test measures the percent of your total breathing volume which you can breathe out in the first second of the test. This is called the “Forced exhalation volume in one second” (FEV1). If it is below 75%, bronchial asthma is confirmed.
  • Provocation test: If you do not have any breathing difficulties at the time of the examination, a test will be carried out to determine whether asthma can be triggered by a specific drug ("Metacholine") or by physical exertion, and the pulmonary function test will then be repeated. If the FEV1 is more than 20% lower than before the provacation, the diagnosis of bronchial asthma is confirmed.
  • Self-measurements of the maximum respiratory flow: Your doctor will give or prescribe a so-called "peak flow meter", a small tube with a number display, into which you have to blow as hard as possible several times a day at home for a week, especially if you have respiratory problems. Please perform the test at least twice daily (morning and evening) for 14 days and note down the results of all the tests you carried out. If the measured values ​​fluctuate by more than 10% per day, it is probably asthma. You can calculate the fluctuation yourself with the following formula: Highest minus lowest value of the day divided by the average of the day. Then calculate the average fluctuation for the first and the second seven day period.
  • Improvement of the lung function through the drug salbutamol: If after inhaling 1-2 sprays of salbutamol (corresponds to 200-400 µg ) the lung function value ("FEV1") measured by spirometry (see avove) increases by more than 12% or more than 200 ml, the diagnosis of bronchial asthma is confirmed.
  • Improvement of lung function by inhaling a cortisone-containing spray (e.g. budesonide): If after four weeks of treatment with a cortisone spray for inhalation, the lung function value ("FEV1") increases by more than 12% or more than 200 ml, the diagnosis of bronchial asthma is confirmed.

If the diagnosis of asthma is confirmed, the initial therapy is given.

Prof. a.D. Dr. Andreas Sönnichsen

Andreas Sönnichsen

Head of the Department of General Medicine and Family Medicine, Center for Public Health, Medical University of Vienna

Prof. a.D. Dr.

This website uses cookies.

• Bitte aktivieren Sie Javascript um die E-Mail Adresse zu sehen.

Sicherung der Diagnose "Asthma bronchiale"

Die Diagnose "Asthma bronchiale" wird durch folgende Untersuchungen gesichert:

  • Lungenfunktionsuntersuchung (Spirometrie): Hierzu müssen Sie nach tiefstmöglicher Einatmung so schnell wie möglich in ein Gerät ("Spirometer") ausatmen. Dabei wird gemessen, wie viel Prozent ihres gesamten Atemvolumens Sie in der ersten Sekunde ausatmen können. Der Wert heißt "forciertes expiratorisches 1-Sekundenvolumen" ("FEV1"). Wenn er unter 75% liegt, ist die Diagnose Asthma bestätigt.
  • Provokationstest: Falls Sie im Moment der Untersuchung keine Atembeschwerden haben, wird überprüft, ob Asthma durch ein bestimmtes Medikament ("Metacholin") oder durch körperliche Anstrengung auslösbar ist, und dann wird die Lungenfunktionsuntersuchung wiederholt. Sinkt der FEV1-Wert um mehr als 20%, ist die Diagnose Asthma bestätigt.
  • Selbstmessungen des maximalen Atemflusses: Ihr Arzt gibt oder verordnet Ihnen ein so genanntes "Peak-Flow-Meter", ein kleines Röhrchen mit einer Zahlenanzeige, in das Sie zu Hause eine Woche lang mehrmals täglich so kräftig wie möglich hineinblasen müssen, vor allem dann, wenn Sie Atembescherden haben. Bitte testen Sie mindestens zweimal täglich (morgens und abends) 14 Tage lang und notieren Sie alle Ergebnisse dieser Tests. Schwanken die gemessenen Werte um mehr als 10% am Tag, so liegt wahrscheinlich Asthma vor. Sie können diese Schwankung selbst nach folgender Formel berechnen: Höchster Wert minus niedrigster Wert eines Tages geteilt durch den Tagesdurchschnitt mal 100. Bilden Sie dann den Durchschnittswert über die ersten und die zweiten sieben Tage.
  • Verbesserung der Lungenfunktion durch das Medikament Salbutamol: Wenn nach dem Einatmen von 1-2 Sprühstößen Salbutamol (enstpricht 200-400 µg) der Lungenfunktionswert ("FEV1") um mehr als 12% oder mehr als 200 ml ansteigt, ist die Diagnose Asthma bestätigt.
  • Verbesserung der Lungenfunktion durch Einatmen eines cortisonhaltigen Sprays (z.B. Budesonid): Wenn nach vier Wochen Behandlung mit einem Kortisonspray zum Einatmen der Lungenfunktionswert ("FEV1") um mehr als 12% oder mehr als 200 ml ansteigt, ist die Diagnose Asthma bestätigt. 

Bei gesicherter Diagnose eines Asthma erfolgt die Ersttherapie.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Andreas Sönnichsen

Andreas Sönnichsen

Leiter der Abteilung Allgemeinmedizin und Familienmedizin, Zentrum für Public Health, Medizinische Universität Wien

Univ.-Prof. Dr. med.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies für Analysen, personalisierte Inhalte und interessenbezogene Anzeigen. Indem Sie diese Website weiter nutzen, erklären Sie sich mit dieser Verwendung einverstanden.